Beautiful People

Beautiful People

Beautiful people are

e   v  e  r  y  w  h  e  r  e

I find I am tripping over you beautiful people en masse!

And to clarify beautiful…

The definition as my Mac says

beautiful: ‘byōōtefel (adjective)

 

1. pleasing to the senses or mind aesthetically

 

2. of a very high standard

And beauty is contagious!

Your beauty shines through in so many parts of my work, designs, podcasts, and now blog posts!

Let me introduce you to B E A U T I F U L P E R S O N # 1

Cate

She interviewed me on her blog last week as a designer. If you missed it, read the rest of this first and then head over to her blog. She asked me the same questions I put to her here.

She and I have been working together on a series of different projects since winter and it has become for me a beautiful friendship. She enriches my life as so many of you dear readers do: teaching me new things, sharing insight and vision, helping me shoulder tasks that might become a bit daunting alone. She is a delight and so INTERESTING! Plus her favourite album {below} is very similar to mine (see here!)

B  E  A  U  T  I   F  U  L  P  E  R  S  O  N  #  1  :  C A T E 

My current physical location: Shanghai, China, in the Former French Concession. I’m sitting at an old Chinese table, looking out at trees and my neighbor’s laundry drying on poles.

 

This morning, my breakfast was: juice, made with a whole beet, three carrots, an apple, half an orange, ginger root, turmeric root, aloe, a cucumber, and a handful of kale; and Peet’s coffee with evaporated milk. Peet’s coffee is one of the foods from home I can’t live without.

 

The best album ever, or my current favorite album is: For Best Ever, I have to say Disintegration by the Cure. My current fave is Neko Case, The Worse Things Get, The Harder I fight, The Harder I Fight, The More I Love You. Night Still Comes” is achingly beautiful, and she’s so wonderfully feisty. Had a bad day? Listen to “Man” three times on repeat. Better than a gin and tonic.

I discovered Neko Case via my friend Ryan. He’s a great friend and a great music resource, so I knitted him this fox (http://www.ravelry.com/projects/infinitetwist/sophisticated-mr-fox)

I am currently knitting/ creating: I currently have two sweaters on the needles, as well as a Leethal Knits cowl, two shawls on deck (one of which is cast on – yea!). I just got to the absolute bottom of my ready-to-spin fiber, finishing up with a Spunky Eclectic BFL roving purchased at the Maine Fiber frolic two years ago and hoarded ever since. There is a bunch of batt-making in my future.

 

My secret super power is: Being organized. Excel is my weapon of choice. Why make a list when you can make a color-coded matrix?

Enjoy the slideshow from Cate. It is a glimpse not only of the world in which she lives, but the way she sees it!

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And if YOU want to nominate a B E A U T I F U L P E R S O N  use the form below and contact me!

Standard

3 thoughts on “Beautiful People

  1. knitstostaysane says:

    Beautiful people abound.

    Those with truly beautiful souls brighten my life. I am grateful to those folk. Grateful to Jean, to Mel, to Matthew, to Ben. Without you, and many more, my life would not be what it is.

    In my dark days, you shine and brighten my way.

    You share my highs

    You pick me up when I stumble.

    I am blessed to have you all in my life.

    Like

  2. deniseinchina says:

    Loved watching the slides from “my” country. I live in Beijing China and it is fun to know there is beautiful yarn being made here. Most of what I find is “ok”, but not beautiful. Thanks Cate for being in China and making a difference.

    Like

Share Your Thoughts!

