Uncategorized, video

Adventures: Hither, Thither and Yon

Aloha My Friends!

How dearly you have been missed! I have found myself quite all over these past few weeks. I don’t think I can catch you up in one post, so I won’t be trying that today. Instead I will give a wee bit of words and pictures in the post and a bit more in the podcast as I share some finished things! Let’s begin with a blast from the past…exactly a year ago today!

11Oct2013To start, this was my view on October 11, 2013…Kekaha, Kauai, Hawaii.

I had gone for a run in the morning instead of afternoon/evening as was my norm. This is what I wrote in my journal

“It seemed like a great idea to run at different times in the day, to savor Kauai as a whole instead of just afternoon memories. I can not fully wrap my mind around the idea that this time next year my view will not include the sights and smells of Major’s {Major’s Bay has a trail that is along the ocean and in the woods that I ran each day}. I hope my new adventure has me excited…doing and seeing new things, making new friends, going new places…fighting the urge to be homesick.”

Ahh! I do miss Kauai, but I was spot on with the adventures being exciting! Want to hear about them?

It began with flying out to meet Barb, a dear friend and incredible knitter, spinner and human. As you can see, our together time was filled with smiles. Isn’t that just the way it is with knitting pals? She and I enjoy the outdoors so a large portion of time spent in company together had us out and about adventuring by foot.

The Knitting Pipeline Maine Retreat was a bit earlier this year and so the weather was so much warmer for me. Wanderings through Kennebunk/Kennebunkport were highlighted with sunshine, gentle breezes and smiling faces. The town had a delightful village feel and with so many instances of bumping in to other knitters from the retreat out and about during our free time I felt like a local! (No, I didn’t eat the lobster, but I did make friends with one!)

Nice locals were everywhere

During the retreat I took a morning session of Susan B. Anderson’s class on toys. We all began in the class together casting on a wee little bunny. I share in-depth quite a bit about the experience in the podcast. In short Susan makes learning not only fun, but addicting. You want to learn, make and do…and her kindness makes you want to do it well and show her! The class gave me great confidence, Double Pointed Needles (DPNs) have been something I have been not used much after the coconut incident, but using size 4mm and a worsted weight yarn I was feeling like a champ!

Adjusted things and pleased with the results! An incredible teacher filled with some amazing students

I would like to take a moment and give a HUGE MAHALO NUI LOA to Unicorn Crafts and Opal Yarn for providing such beautiful pattern handouts for Susan’s class. I show you all these in the podcast. In short, that are a treasure. I plan to email them directly to thank them. I encourage any other retreat attendees to do the same. These were quality pattern handouts, rich in colour and formatted so well the least i can do is thank them…but I also plan to look around to see what products they sell! Unicorn Books and Crafts and Opal Yarn have won my patronage with these gifts! The patterns are worth adding to your library, check them out here.

I was delighted to share dinner one evening with a sweet group of amazing ladies, Angie, Missy, Kristie, Kelly, Barb as well as Susan and Auntie Paula. The Ramp was a fun place with a breathtaking view. Dinner was filled with laughter, stories and beautiful women sharing delightful stories. It is one of my favourite memories.

I got a little crazy when left to my own devices... Can not even express the joy behind this photoSmile: And share a book! We were Instagram NINJAS!Missy and I knit in the sun

There is so much more to share and show, which I will, but not all at once today.

So I leave you with my “stoked selfie”–I am showing you one of the most famous houses in Kennebunkport. Recognize it?

 

Enjoy the podcast! And look for updates this week to include: More On Maine, Pattern Chatter, Beautiful People: An Interview With Stacey Trock, Washcloth Mania (hundreds HUNDREDS  have come in! I have been spending hours with the family doing inventory and prepping items to send to Haiati…YOU ALL ARE STUNNING!) , a Free Pattern Friday, and some amazing things to come! ,–and by “amazing” I mean hold on to your knitting needles!

Standard

3 thoughts on “Adventures: Hither, Thither and Yon

  1. I can relate to your post one year ago Mel. One week today we leave England to drive to Andalucia, Spain to move into a house we have not seen but in a village we love, almost on the coast. I am sad to leave my English garden but looking forward to the mountains, sea and sunshine, making new friends and hopefully meeting knitters and spinners. Life is an adventure, the road trip through France and Spain with our cat and caravan will be long and interesting, my wheels, looms etc are packed and ready to go.
    ps. I love your green and purply shawl, what pattern is it? x

    Like

  2. knitstostaysane says:

    Wow! Your spinning is lovely!! I can’t wait to see your frolic yarn. The colours are beautiful. The vintage bride yarn is fab!!!! I love chain plying for preserving clolour changes.

    I can’t recommend Louise’s Caithness craft collective podcast enough. It’s wonderful. If you fancy a bit more Scottish brogue try the Knit British podcast too. I love it because Louise (Liera on Rav) tries to knit with British yarns. She’s in the know when it comes to breed specific yarns.

    Can’t wait to see what you have in store.

    Great to catch up again. Tonight I’m blogging. It’s been AGES!!

    See YA!!
    Ellen

    Like

Share Your Thoughts!

