with others

Everybody Does It! Why not do it better?

 

Today there is a great post I want to share with you! Cate of Infinite Twist has gathered a variety of folks to share many different things with the same goal in mind:

MAKE PEOPLE BETTER SHAWL KNITTERS



The post I want to share is relevant to every knitter that breathes…since all breathing knitters do exactly this:

s u b s t i t u t i n g    y a r n

(If you have never ever once done this, please stop and head for the comment section, tell me all about yourself and when I can contact you for an interview!)

Here is an excerpt from Jill Wolcott Knits:

Yarn Substitution

We all do it. We see a pattern and then choose the yarn, or we choose the yarn, then find a pattern that will work. We have also likely had some less than glorious outcomes. So how do you make a knowledgeable and appropriate yarn substitution?

I think most knitters substitute based on what is readily available to them. They may be looking for a yarn substitution from their stash, or from their favorite yarn purveyor, or they may be looking for a less expensive option.

– See more at: http://www.jillwolcottknits.com/yarn-substitution/#sthash.NN1mjy01.dpuf

 

Remarkable-Wrapped-300x282 And remember: Post photos of your shawls and use #shawltogether so we can all see the amazing things others are knitting….not to mention hearing what they like about their shawl knitting adventure!

After you read Jill’s post head back here and comment on your best or worst substitution story. Know a friend that has a great story to tell about switching things up? Share this post with them! I want to hear the good, the bad and the hilarious!

Standard

4 thoughts on “Everybody Does It! Why not do it better?

  1. I almost always use a different yarn than what is called for in the pattern. I am a spinner and prefer to use my handspun to knit with. And well handspun has special properties of its own. So my rule of thumb is to plan on frogging at least once since you will always guess wrong on the needle size the first time.

    Like

  2. michelleowls says:

    I almost always substitute yarn. I think I did one pattern with the actual yarn that the designer chose. One shawl I made asked for a fingering weight, which I have lots of. Except sometimes not all fingering weight yarns are the same and the one I initially chose just wasn’t creating the fabric that was desired, so I had to change it to a different brand of yarn.

    Like

  3. knitstostaysane says:

    Once upon a time I’d go to my LYS wanting to knit ‘something’ I’d peruse the patterns and pick the yarn then and there. My LYS is a Sirdar stockist do mostly it would be a pattern and it’s matching yarn.

    Then there was ravelry. WOW! My eyes and horizons were opened. The pattern choices are miriad. Designers from all over the world offer their patterns, so the chances of me finding the yarn suggested in my LYS are slim to none. So my substitution skills have been stretched to the limit.

    My top tip is to ask your LYS shop owner. Any yarn store worker worth their salt can give great substitution advice- they know what their yarn can do. Go equipped with your pattern and yarn requirements and suck their brains dry for information.

    Like

  4. I almost always substitute yarn. Sometimes that’s hard because I have a particular pattern in mind. What I choose to knit or crochet is never simple, always pushes my boundaries; and sometimes I think I could make it easier on myself if I just stayed with the yarn that’s called for. But I craft because I want to make something that’s part of me. Even if I use someone else’s pattern, I can still alter the design, change the yarn, make it my own.

    My tip is to just show off the yarn. If you chose the yarn first, because you love it; then this project is about the yarn. Maybe your next one will be about the design or about a great new stitch you just discovered.

    I live in a warm humid climate with a very short cool season, so synthetic yarns are sometimes better than natural fiber. Even cotton is too heavy when it gets wet, so not great for me. I miss out on the beautiful wool yarns, but I have a whole world of art yarns from high tech fibers that open up a new path for me.

    My current project is a shawl from a beautiful textured Italian yarn I found on vacation last summer. Most tips advise you to use a simple pattern to show off a textured yarn. But I find that a really textured yarn that goes from fat to thin gets lost in a straight knitted pattern. Besides, I’m not one to take the easy way. So my shawl is the Blue Curacao Shawl; an exploded pineapple pattern from Amazing Crochet Lace by Doris Chan.

    Because the yarn keeps changing from thick to thin, the pattern is not as evident as in the original design, but wow, the color and texture really dance through that open weave pattern. And I don’t lose the thin parts. I took a lot of trial and error to find the best way to place the markers so I wouldn’t lose the patten altogether, because it is there, it’s just much subtler than the original. I’m about half way through and loving it. I can’t wait to finish it and show it off!

    So, if you are not sure about a textured yarn. Just jump in! Break the rules! You will create something amazing!

    Like

Share Your Thoughts!

