Beautiful People, giveaways

Beautiful People: Melody Hoffman

Aloha Friends!

This weekend, those of you who follow me on Instagram had a special treat: a guest! I asked my sweet friend Melody to share her world with us and I am delighted she did!

One of the photos she shared was so incredibly lovely I have used it as our featured image above! In this picture you can feel Melody’s gentle spirit.

We met last year, early in January.

I say “met”…I read her blog and contacted her. The first interaction went something akin to this:

Aloha Melody! I am Mel. I think we should be friends. Can we make that happen?

She was game.

And I have loved her deeply ever since!

She has a great sense of nature, a love we have in common. She captures the forest in her backyard with such joy and wonder you can’t help but feel you are walking in a sacred place, excited and peaceful all at once. It was this same forest that inspired her shawl design Canopy knit in The Fibre Company’s Road to China Light from  Kelbourne Woolens (159 yards/ 50g, 65% Baby Alpaca, 15% Silk, 10% Cashmere, 10% Camel). I love this yarn! I think my LYS The Salty Sheep has all the decadent yarn from Kelbourne Woolens! If you have tried any of their stuff please do tell in the comments below!

But back to Melody…

She taught during Camp Aloha Friends in Summer 2014, showing us how to collect and press flowers. I asked her if she could take the participants on a walk. “Just head out away from your home 20 minutes in one direction. Share with us the sights and sounds!”

She did.

It was my favourite part of last summer. If you look over the images she captures, the beautiful pictures of knitting and nature, you will see why!

So hang on Dear Readers! The warmer weather will return and we will see green sprouts and sun. For now, I am so glad Melody taught me last summer to save my flowers for the long winter months! (I will show them to you on Instagram later!)

May the sun be warming you today,

Mel

Ps. If you made it this far I have a treat for you! Share below a few of the Instagram accounts you love to follow! Not on Instagram? Share one or two blogs! One lucky comment will be chosen from any posted below to receive a treat from me of Mandy’s Canopy pattern! Winner chosen and announced Wednesday Feb 25th, so be sure to comment before 8 a.m. Wednesday EST! (and the Kelbourne Woolen comments count too!)



image

Click that little arrow down on left for a host of sharing options!

Standard

20 thoughts on “Beautiful People: Melody Hoffman

  1. knitstostaysane says:

    My favourite instagrammers are Christy of @theplannersociety, Deb of @tinkhickman and Kate of @katedaviesdesigns. They all post beautiful photos.

    I love following Mr Fry of @stephenfryactually too. Just because ifs fun to peek into the life of celebrity.

    Then there are the fibre and fluff folk. I love looking at their shineys. @intothewhirled, @caithnesscraft, @junofibrearts, @elspeth81, @twistedlimone, @thegoldenskein,@theyarnyard,@fyberspates, @pompommag,@earthwoolfire

    Like

  2. Peggy Martin says:

    I love your blog Mel and follow it religiously. I also tune in for The Knit Girllls podcast and DramaticKnits podcast. Just found The Knitmore Girls and love them too!

    Like

  3. Angela says:

    I love checking in with lunagreyyarn, littlebobbins, nhknits, woolful, fibertrek and so many more! I have Melody’s pattern in my Rav queue. I would love to win this lovely pattern. Thanks!

    Like

  4. Judy11 says:

    My list starts just like another commenter: yarnharlot panopticon, knittyblog, ysolda, plus dirtywaterdyeworks, blackbunnyfibers, math4knitters, frenchpressknits, knitknitfrog, pdxknitterati, tanisfiberarts, theyarniad, wisehilda, and sadly missing Brenda Danes’ former Caston! I think I see a problem – too much blog reading not enough knitting – lol!!! Good for now since I am incapacitated after hand surgery that has lots of not healing issues and has prevented any knitting for over a month. And, yes your Oultanlder package included – won’t even open it until hand is cleared for knitting 😦

    Like

  5. Pingback: A Good Sport Yarn | WITH∞MEL

Share Your Thoughts!

