words

Sunshine in Stitches

Today I am sharing cheerful photos of a reknit I have recently finished. It was such a fun process, largely in part to the colour and personality of the yarns I was using. I know yellow isn’t for everyone to wear, but it certainly makes for a cheerful knit!

Ikaika was originally created with 2 strands of Helix held double. The effect was a quick beautiful knit in hand dyed yarn that I didn’t have to alternate skeins. The fabric was soft and warm and thick. Perfect for what I wanted.

IMG_7871

But then I wanted something different.

Airy and light and suited for sparkling springtime moments that come after the stillness of winter.

Using Penumbra and Helix held together created an entirely different fabric as well as colour story.

 

My girls would squeeze the fabric coming off my needles and each time say “So soft!” “Softer than a kitten” “Squeally-squeal-squeal!” You know… noises you make when something is just that soft!

And then I met little ball buttons!

IMG_0705

HAND MADE!

And I knew I needed one more thing to add to this sweater…

FullSizeRender

And I am tickled with the results! (and the loops around the ball are shown intentionally as the picture is part of the tutorial with the pattern on creating the closure)

Some little changes went in to this revamp in order to encourage the best traits of the yarn duo. For me having already knit this pattern gave me secure footing knowing what to expect. Armed with that understanding I could confidently tweak here and there and there… A bit more drape? …Will that alter the sleeves? And if so, how? …A lovely halo, yes, yes! But will that hide parts of the pattern or enhance?

I played a bit with swatching and comparing, repeated that exercise a few times and had a nice revamp! For those of you who already have Ikaika, your pattern will soon have an update that shares this alterknit version. On Monday, Cate of Infinite Twist will have additional kits so you can choose to knit this newer version or the classic version.

Tomorrow there will post a wonderful giveaway as YOU have the chance to help decide kit colours!

Hoping you have sunshine in your stitches today!

Mel

Looking for more?

image 3

click the link above for free fun!

Standard

11 thoughts on “Sunshine in Stitches

  1. It’s beautiful ! ( o and I love yellow ! even thought I’m the type that can’t wear such a light shade of it.. ) And lovely to see how it looks the same yet quite different from the other one…

    Like

  2. Linda says:

    Love love love this version! Your pics are enough to make me want to cast on this very minute… Alas…. Must purchase yarn for this combo and wait to receive it! So very lovely Mel!

    Like

  3. Beth Case says:

    Beautiful! I love yellow, but can’t wear it because my skin has yellow tones and it just makes me look jaundiced! But I love looking at it…

    Like

Share Your Thoughts!

